About Us

Contact Us

Contacting Cliftonville HC has never been easier! Just click on the person best suited to answer your query.

You can call and leave a message on 01843 809123 (we'll call you back).

You can also drop by any one of our Social pages and DM us...

About Cliftonville HC

As far as can be ascertained, the club began its activities in 1926. 

Starting as a mid-week side, the club’s popularity soon grew and it wasn’t long until it was able to field two Saturday teams. Following the WWII the club continued to grow and by 1950 had relocated twice, from Cliftonville to Margate and then finally to Ramsgate.

The club has always maintained a full social calendar. Players have enjoyed many tours to the continent as well as hosting and attending festivals in the UK. In the 1970s, the club was host to The Thanet Festival – the largest festival of its kind in the world.

In its more recent history the club has been joined by the Thanetians (1980), Ramsgate Ladies (1983 – marking the formation of the first Ladies section) and Westgate Ladies (2007).

The club has enjoyed success on the hockey field at all levels. Over the years a number of Cliftonville players also have gone on to play hockey at County, National, International and Olympic level.

The Committee




Aron Walker


Nick Jones


Paula Gaffney

Men's Section Lead

Alex Newson

Women's Section Lead

Rachael Ruocco-Buchanan

Junior Section Lead

Anna Elliott

Bar Manager

Fixtures Secretary

Jen Chapman

Umpire Co-Ordinator

Steve Morgan

Social Events Co-Ordinator

Dan Mees

Social Media

Kat O'Hara


Cat Doherty

Welfare Officer

Nick Jones

Assistant Welfare Officer

Anna Elliott

Discipline Officer

Nick Jones

Junior Administration Assistant

Nick Jones

Covid Officer

Nick Jones

Club Officials


Post Holder




N. J. Alder

Past Presidents

T.R.Hume, P. Firminger, J. Robinson, T. Westby

Vice Presidents

N. J. Alder, D. Ash, P. Bailey, S.D. Ballard, S.M. Ballard, Mrs T. Ballard, D. Burnley, C. Burton, J. Carr, Mrs J. Cobb, P. Cobb, A. Cox, T. K. Devon, N. Elliott, R. Fleet, T. Gilliland, J. Goatcher, N. Jones, S. Jones, N. Leach-Bing, M. Linington, J. Lowden, M. Paine, R. Setterfield, G. Sneller, K. Stephens, F. J. Thomas, G. Voizey, Mrs L. Wells, M. Yates

Life Members

Honorary Life Members - thank you for your continued support

  • N.J. Alder
  • D. Ash
  • S. Ballard
  • Mrs T. Ballard
  • C. Burton
  • J. Carr
  • Mrs J. Cobb
  • P. Cobb
  • A. Cox
  • J. Parkin
  • R. Setterfield
  • T. Westby
  • S.Ballard

Our Partners

Clear Safety
England Hockey
South East Hockey
Clear Safety
England Hockey
South East Hockey
++ AGM - 1st July - 7pm - Broadstairs Cricket Club - All Members Welcome - Add the date to your diary NOW ++
members nameclub role
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Thanks for your message!

We will do our best to get back to you as soon as possible.